Skip to content

Jake Allen Voted as AHL’s Outstanding Goaltender

Chicago Wolves goaltender Jake Allen was announced Thursday as the recipient of the Aldege “Baz” Bastien Memorial Award, granted to the American Hockey League’s most outstanding goaltender for the 2013-14 season, as voted on by AHL coaches, players and media in each of the league’s 30 member cities.

The 23-year-old is the first Wolves goaltender to win the Bastien Award and has done so while anchoring the team in net this season. ALLEN has appeared in 51 of the Wolves’ 74 games and leads league goaltenders with 32 wins, 2.07 goals-against average, and a .927 save percentage. If he remains atop the standings in these three categories to end the regular season, then he would be just the second goaltender since 1984-85 to accomplish the feat. His play has garnered him numerous honors from the league this year, including a selection to the 2013-14 AHL First All-Star Team and starting the 2014 AHL All-Star Classic in February.

The Fredericton, N.B. native has backstopped his way into the Wolves record books this season. Earlier this month he joined the exclusive group of Kari Lehtonen (2004-05), Ondrej Pavelec (2007-08), and Wolves general manager Wendell Young (1995-96, 1997-98, 1999-2000) as the only Wolves goaltenders to record 30-win seasons. On April 1, he tied the franchise record for shutouts by a goaltender in a single season with his sixth whitewash, pulling even with Young (1999-2000) and teammate Matt Climie (2012-13).

A recent member of the AHL’s 10,000-minute club, ALLEN has amassed an 83-74-10 record, 2.55 goals-against average, .917 save percentage, and 15 shutouts in 171 career AHL games spanning four seasons with Chicago and Peoria. Additionally, he posted a 9-4-0 record, 2.46 goals-against average, and one shutout in 15 National Hockey League games with St. Louis last season and garnered a selection to the NHL All-Rookie Team.

Other winners of the Bastien Memorial Award include Young while with Hershey in 1987-88, St. Louis starting netminder Ryan Miller (2004-05) and other current NHL goaltenders including Cory Schneider (2008-09) and Jonathan Bernier (2009-10).