Press Releases

Revamped overtime rules highlight AHL changes

July 10, 2014

The American Hockey League’s Board of Governors approved a number of rule changes for the 2014-15 season on Thursday, including a bold restructuring of the league’s overtime procedures.

In place of the conventional five-minute overtime session, the AHL will conduct a seven-minute overtime period during the 2014-15 season. The teams will play 4-on-4 for a minimum of three minutes. At the first whistle after 4:00 remains on the clock, each team will remove a skater and compete 3-on-3. If a winner does not emerge during overtime, then a shootout commences with three participants from each team. The AHL has required five shooters per side in years past.

The AHL is believed to be the first professional league to employ the 3-on-3 overtime format.

“We figured this is the best for fans: Decide the game in a team atmosphere,” said Chicago Wolves general manager WENDELL YOUNG. “We find the trend of shootouts going up and we’d like to see as many situations as possible settled with game play. It’s a very innovative step by the AHL. I think it’ll give the most skilled and fast teams an advantage.”

Other rule changes include updates to major penalties and helmet protocol. Beginning next season, a player who receives two major penalties for fighting or three major penalties for any infraction in the same game will be given an automatic game misconduct. Additionally, any player on the ice whose helmet comes off during play must immediately exit the playing surface or reattach his helmet and chin strap, otherwise receiving a minor penalty.

A detailed list of the rule changes can be found at

The 2014-15 AHL regular season begins on Oct. 10 with the Wolves home opener celebration slated for Saturday, Oct. 11. To learn about the team’s summertime ticket specials, call 1-800-THE-WOLVES or visit


Wolves unveil schedule for 25th anniversary season

The Chicago Wolves enter their 25th anniversary season with four league championships, six conference titles, nine division crowns and more ...


Where are They Now: Player Tracker

The place to find the latest Chicago Wolves-related personnel transactions for players rostered during the 2017-18 and 2018-19 seasons....


Wolves reveal foe for 25th anniversary season home opener

When the Chicago Wolves host the home opener of their 25th anniversary season at 7 p.m. on Saturday, Oct. 13 at Allstate Arena, they’ll fa...

Chicago Wolves vs. Grand Rapids Griffins

Dansk re-signs with Vegas

The Vegas Golden Knights announced Friday that goaltender Oscar Dansk has signed a two-year contract to stay with the organization....

Oscar Dansk

Wendell Young wins AHL’s Thomas Ebright Award

Thank American Hockey League president and CEO David Andrews announced Thursday that Chicago Wolves general manager Wendell Young has been s...