Skip to content

Wolves Announce 2016-17 Opening Night Roster

The Chicago Wolves submitted their official Opening Night roster to the American Hockey League on Thursday, which means the team will feature 26 players when the Wolves start their 23rd season against the Griffins at 6 p.m. Friday at Van Andel Arena in Grand Rapids.

The Wolves begin their hunt for a fifth championship with a roster that features 11 players who saw time in the National Hockey League last season: forwards Kenny Agostino, Andrew Agozzino, Jordan Caron Landon Ferraro and Alex Friesen; defensemen Chris Butler, Morgan Ellis, Brad Hunt and Petteri Lindbohm, as well as goaltenders Jordan Binnington and Pheonix Copley.

Chicago welcomes back three of its top scorers from last season: Caron, Danny Kristo and Jordan Schmaltz. The Wolves also added six players who netted double-figure goals during AHL play last season in forwards Agostino, Agozzino, Friesen and Wade Megan, as well as defensemen Ellis and Hunt.

The Opening Night roster is as follows:

Forwards (14): Kenny Agostino, Andrew Agozzino, Ivan Barbashev, Samuel Blais, Conner Bleackley, Jordan Caron, Jacob Doty, Landon Ferraro, Alex Friesen, Bryce Gervais, Danny Kristo, Mackenzie MacEachern, Wade Megan and Brett Sterling.

Defensemen (9): Chris Butler, Vince Dunn, Morgan Ellis, Brad Hunt, Petteri Lindbohm, Jordan Schmaltz, Kevin Tansey, Tommy Vannelli and Scooter Vaughan.

Goaltenders (3): Jordan Binnington, Pheonix Copley and Ville Husso.

Chicago completed its preseason roster moves by assigning forward Sam Povorozniouk to the Missouri Mavericks (ECHL).

The Wolves are celebrating the start of the season with a free tailgate party from 4 to 6 p.m. Saturday (Oct. 15) in Allstate Arena’s West Lot that will feature live music, free food and drink, face-painting, games and much more. For more information about the tailgate or Chicago’s 2016-17 schedule, visit ChicagoWolves.com or call 1-800-THE-WOLVES.