State of the Pack

February 2, 2018

For the strength of the Pack is the Wolf, and the strength of the Wolf is the Pack.

With four league championships on the Chicago Wolves resume, it’s hard for a Wolves team to deliver record-breaking feats. But as the Wolves head into the heart of the schedule, head coach Rocky Thompson’s team has developed into one of the American Hockey League’s hottest squads and posted a few records along the way.

From Dec. 9 to Jan. 6, the Wolves matched the franchise record by stringing together 14 consecutive games with at least one point. The Wolves earned a 12-0-1-1 record during that stretch to leap into second place in the AHL’s Central Division.

Moreover, the Wolves have broken the franchise record for consecutive home wins with 10 in a row – and this streak is still rolling heading into the Feb. 2 game against Milwaukee.

Three Wolves players – T.J. Tynan, Brandon Pirri and Tomas Hyka – earned invitations to the AHL All-Star Classic. Twelve Wolves have spent time in the National Hockey League this season, which includes a handful of players who have helped the expansion Vegas Golden Knights build the NHL’s best record.

Chicago hit the All-Star Break third in the Central Division with just 43 percentage points separating them and the sixth-place Admirals. The Rockford IceHogs rank fourth while the Grand Rapids Griffins sit fifth. Only the top four teams reach the Calder Cup Playoffs.

Upon turning the tide in December with a 9-2-2-1 record, the Wolves have been able to prey upon their Central Division rivals — most notably the IceHogs, who the Wolves have yet to lose to in regulation (3-0-2-1). Milwaukee has proven more of a challenge — Chicago owns a 3-2-1-1 record against the Admirals.

Speaking of those Central Division opponents, Chicago will put its franchise-record 10-game home winning streak on the line on Friday, Feb. 2, when they host Milwaukee. Puck drop is set for 7 p.m. and the game will be broadcast on The U Too.

The IceHogs arrive in Rosemont the following night for the seventh edition of this year’s 12-game Illinois Lottery Cup series.


Celebrating One Year with the Vegas Golden Knights

When the Chicago Wolves and Vegas Golden Knights officially became partners one year ago Wednesday, Golden Knights general manager George Mc...


Wolves Reveal Guaranteed Dates and Opponents for 25th Season

As the American Hockey League has set its divisional alignment for the 2018-19 season, the Chicago Wolves have divulged scheduling details f...


Wagner and Weis Sign with Wolves for 2018-19 Campaign

The Chicago Wolves announced Thursday that forwards Ryan Wagner and Matthew Weis have signed standard player contracts with the team for the...


10 Skaters Join Lagace as Vegas Black Aces

The Chicago Wolves announced Saturday that 10 skaters joined goaltender Max Lagace to complete the Vegas Golden Knights inaugural Black Ace ...


Wolves Eliminated from Calder Cup Playoffs in Triple OT

Victor Ejdsell delivered the game-winning goal with 2:38 to play in the third overtime to lift the Rockford IceHogs over the Chicago Wolves ...