Skip to content

Haydar earns AHL Hall of Fame honor

The American Hockey League announced Thursday that former Chicago Wolves captain and champion Darren Haydar has been selected for induction in the AHL’s Hall of Fame.

Haydar, Robbie Ftorek, Denis Hamel and Fred Thurier will be honored as part of the 2020 AHL All-Star Classic festivities on Jan. 26-27 in Ontario, Calif.

A prolific scorer throughout his professional career, Haydar spent more seasons with the Wolves than any other AHL team. He racked up 128 goals and 240 assists in 342 regular-season games — a 1.08 points-per-game average — along with 26 goals and 33 assists in 44 Calder Cup Playoff games with Chicago.

During 2006-07, his first of five seasons with the Wolves, Haydar scored at least one point in each of the first 39 games to set the AHL record for longest point streak — and tying Wayne Gretzky for the fourth-longest streak in professional hockey history. The Milton, Ontario, native went on to finish the season with a league-high 122 points (41 goals, 81 assists) and earned the AHL’s Most Valuable Player award.

The following year, Haydar became the Wolves captain and led the franchise to the 2008 Calder Cup championship. In 24 postseason games that year, he delivered 12 goals and 15 assists. After a two-year hiatus, Haydar returned to the Wolves in 2010 and served as the team’s captain and leading scorer again.

Haydar ranks as the AHL’s all-time leader in postseason goals (63) and points (143). He ranks third on the Wolves’ all-time list for regular-season points (368), fourth in goals and assists and ninth in games.

The Wolves start a three-game road trip Friday night in San Antonio before returning home on Saturday, Oct. 19, to face the Rockford IceHogs in an Illinois Lottery Cup clash.